Skip to main content
Sustainability Report 2010

Main Content

Resources Utilization and Conservation

Environmental Design

With the adequate economic support, we put more focus on ensuring the quality and sustainable development of public facilities. This was achieved by following the requirement stated in the General Specification for Building (GS 2007) and a series of General Specification for building services installations; and conducting more technical studies.

In 2009, we completed 4 technical information papers. They were related to volatile organic compound (VOC) paints procurement and application, sustainable timber and tensioned fabric. As a continuing effort to look for project improvement opportunities, 17 Technical Studies are still in-progress. In addition to the aforementioned technical information papers, ArchSD hosted 8 Technical Seminars in 2009 to share advanced technologies with the industry.

To drive towards a sustainable community and preserving natural resources, we are endeavoured to integrate sustainability principles into our building specifications. With an aim to reduce energy consumption in government buildings, we adopted various sustainable designs in our new buildings.

Case Study of Environmental Design - Reprovisioning of Diamond Hill Crematorium

Project Description:

The Reprovisioning of Diamond Hill Crematorium was accomplished in two phases to provide our community a dignified space to face the unavoidable moment. The project consisted of the construction of six cremators, four services halls and gardens of remembrance, installation of automatic coffin transportation system, the demolition of the existing crematorium, and other associated facilities. The crematorium has been sited along the landscape of the hillside so that the impact to the surrounding environment could be reduced. The plantrooms are located in the basement so that more space (including the podium top) could be free up for the gardens.

Design and Features:

We integrated the concept of sustainability into this new Diamond Hill Crematorium during the design stage of the project. The following sustainability features were included in this calm and peaceful place:

  • Admission of natural lighting from skylights and slit windows to create a soothing environment inside;
  • The splendidly landscaped podium to provide a serene atmosphere with trees and climbers;
  • Adaptation of the advanced state-of-the-art cremator to ensure the emission is in compliance with the relevant Environmental Protection Department's requirement; and
  • Installation of green roofs on the service halls to lower the roof surface temperature and the air-conditioning load of the halls.
Courtyard of Diamond Hill Crematorium
Courtyard of Diamond Hill Crematorium
Green roofs on the service halls
Green roofs on the service halls
Vertical greening on the building
Vertical greening on the building

Case Study of Environmental Design - Tseung Kwan O (TKO) Sports Ground

Project Description:

To furnish the goal of hosting the 2009 East Asian Games with international standard arenas while addressing local needs, our project team has made efforts to build the new arenas with environmental responsive design.

Design and Features:

One of the new arenas, TKO Sports Ground, demonstrates our efforts in providing the community a pleasant place that is designed to harmonise with the environment through utilising local microclimate conditions. Some of the design features are highlighted below:

  • The sports ground is orientated at an angle that slightly rotated towards the west direction to give more shading time to the football pitch. It softens the morning sun shining directly towards the spectators throughout the year;
  • To maintain the visual openness and the breezeway corridor of the TKO area, the curvilinear metal roof has been carefully designed to give less resistance to air flow such that the wind is less interrupted; and
  • To facilitate athletes to achieve international recognisable records, we ensure the sports ground meets the international standard on the level of wind disturbance to the track and field. Research was conducted to minimise the impacts brought by wind gust, therefore, the orientation of the sports ground has been rotated anticlockwise and the southern extended stand has stretched out to shield the track area from wind gust. The impacts of the wind gust have been examined by wind turbine test.
Admission of natural lighting from skylights
Admission of natural lighting from skylights
Admission of natural lighting from skylights
Breezeway Corridor at Tseung Kwan O Area
Breezeway Corridor at Tseung Kwan O Area
Windshield for Track Area
Windshield for Track Area
Wind-responsive design
Wind-responsive design

Comment from the Chinese University of Hong Kong

"We believe that ArchSD should be a pioneer in sustainability building and design. ArchSD's devoted efforts in promoting sustainability building is well acknowledged by the university, and as such, we look forward to learn more practical examples of green building features from ArchSD. In additions, it is hoped that the university can gain more subvention support from ArchSD in our university's green building projects, so as to build a greener better environment for our students and staff."

Mr. MA W.T, Michael

Campus Development Office
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Our Response:

Sharing our green building knowledge with stakeholders in construction industry is essential for building a greener Hong Kong. Throughout the years, our department has paid increasing attention on adopting green features in building design. In 2008, ArchSD has established a Green Building Committee to centralise and coordinate issues related to green buildings such as energy enhancement and building environmental performance assessment. Apart from releasing more information on our green initiatives, we will continue to share our works through various communication channels.



Comment from a Staff

"Being the leading professional services provider in Hong Kong community facilities and related matters, ArchSD should put more resources on conducting Technical Studies so as to maintain her leading position. The best practices and research findings can be shared with the industrial partners, which can benefit the industry and the public at large."

Mr. CHAU Kwun-tong

Staff

Our Response:

Over the years, we had carried out Technical Studies on various green initiatives such as Green Procurement Guidelines - Low Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) paint, Guidelines for use of Sustainable Timber or Timber Products in ArchSD contracts, Particular Specification for Tensioned Fabric Structure, etc. We also shared our findings with the public through our website, Sustainability Reports, seminars, etc. We will continue to conduct Technical Studies as necessary and integrate their findings/recommendations into our project as appropriate.


Top

跳至主要內容
可持續發展報告2010

主要内容

資源運用及管理

環保設計

我們在充足的經濟支持下,致力提升公共設施的質素及推動可持續發展。因此,我們遵循《建築物一般規格》(GS 2007)的要求及一系列屋宇裝備裝置的一般規格,並且進行更多技術研究工作,以求不斷改善服務。

在2009年,我們完成了四份有關的技術資料文件,包括揮發性有機化合物(VOC)塗料的採購及應用、可持續木材及張拉的結構。為了不斷改善項目質素,17個技術研究仍在進行中。此外,建築署亦於2009年舉辦了八個研討會,與業界分享嶄新的技術。

為了推動社會的可持續發展及保護自然資源,我們致力將可持續發展的原則納入建築物規格內。我們在新政府建築物上亦採用不同的可持續發展設計元素,以減少能源耗用。

環保設計案例分析 – 鑽石山火葬場重置工程

項目簡介:

鑽石山火葬場重置工程分兩個階段完成,為社會提供一處莊嚴之所處理喪葬事宜。工程項目包括建造六個火化爐、四個禮堂及紀念花園、安裝自動棺木運輸系統、拆除現有的火葬場及建造其他相關設施。新的火葬場依山而建,以減少土地開挖所導致之環境破壞。而機房置於地下,平台上可以有更多地方作為花園之用。

設計及特點:

我們在設計階段將可持續發展的概念融入新鑽石山火葬場項目,包括以下幾個可持續發展特點:

  • 從天窗和窗戶引進天然光,締造一個安寧的禮堂環境。
  • 平台以樹木及攀附植物作園景佈置,營造寧靜的環境。
  • 採用先進的焚化爐,以確保空氣排放符合環境保護署有關的要求。
  • 在禮堂上蓋鋪設綠化天台,以降低屋頂表面溫度並減低空調的耗電量。
鑽石山火葬場的庭院
鑽石山火葬場的庭院
禮堂上的綠化天台
禮堂上的綠化天台
建築物上的垂直綠化
建築物上的垂直綠化

環保設計案例分析 – 將軍澳運動場

項目簡介:

為提供主辦2009年東亞運動會國際標準場地,以及應付本地的需要,我們的項目小組力臻建立環保的新運動場。

設計及特點:

作為其中一個新場地–將軍澳運動場展示了我們如何利用地區的微氣候條件為社區提供一個與環境和諧協調的舒適場地。部份設計特點如下:

  • 運動場坐落的位置稍微朝向西面,以便延長足球場的遮蔭時間,並且避免早晨陽光無間斷地直接照射觀眾。
  • 為了保持將軍澳區廣闊的視野及暢道通風,新月型的金屬天幕經過精心設計,避免了阻擋風勢,讓空氣流通。
  • 為了讓運動員在此場館締造的記錄得到國際認可,我們確保運動場設備符合有關田徑場上受風滋擾水平的國際標準。我們進行研究以期減少陣風所帶來的影響,並參考研究結果,運動場的方位會以逆時針方向稍作移動。而南面的伸延支架看台,經過風洞測試後,確定能阻擋跑道區的陣風。
從天窗引進天然光
從天窗引進天然光
從天窗引進天然光
將軍澳區的通風廊
將軍澳區的通風廊
跑道區的擋風屏
跑道區的擋風屏
順應風向的設計
順應風向的設計

香港中文大學的意見

「我們深信建築署在可持續建築和設計上應擔當先鋒的角色。大學非常認同建築署推廣可持續建築的努力,我們亦期待從建築署了解更多有關環保建築的實例。另外,大學期望學校的環保建築項目可以獲得建築署更多的支援,從而為學生和員工建立一個更美好的綠色校園。」

香港中文大學

校園發展處
馬維剛先生

我們的回應:

為社區構建綠色未來,我們必須與大專界分享環保建築的知識。多年來,我們部門日益重視將環保理念引入建築設計,並於2008年成立了環保建築委員會以集中資源和統籌有關環保建築的事宜,如提高能源效益及建築物環境表現評估。除了披露更多有關我們環保建築的訊息,我們更將繼續透過各種溝通渠道,分享我們在環保建築管理的工作成就。



員工的意見

「作為提供香港公共設施及相關專業服務的服務單位,建築署應投放更多資源於技術研究工作以維持其領導地位;亦可以與業界分享最佳作業守則及研究成果,以造福市民大眾及整個建築行業。」

員工代表

周冠棠先生

我們的回應:

一直以來,我們不斷進行有關環保建築的技術研究工作,例如含低揮發性有機化合物(VOC)塗料的環保採購指引、建築署項目中可持續木材或木材產品的使用守則、有關張拉結構的特別規格等。此外,我們亦在網頁、可持續發展報告及研討會與不同的持份者分享研究成果,甚至將有關的成果應用在我們的項目上。