Sustainability Report 2011
Banner

Energy Saving Design

The Government has been actively promoting green buildings. In 2009 the Development Bureau and the Environment Bureau jointly issued a technical circular which sets out a comprehensive target-based green performance framework for new and existing government buildings with a view to promote green buildings in Hong Kong.

As stated in the technical circular, all new government buildings with construction floor areas of more than 10,000m2 should aim to obtain the second highest grade or above under a locally recognized building environmental assessment system such as Hong Kong Building Environmental Assessment Method (BEAM) developed by the Hong Kong Green Building Council (HKGBC). In addition, all new government buildings with construction floor areas of more than 10,000m2 should aim to outperform the Building Energy Codes issued by the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) by designated percentages.

In view of the above, we have been actively playing an advisory role for relevant bureaux and departments on energy performance. We have been working closely with the EMSD in providing information for benchmarking energy performance of various building types for continuous improvement. In addition, when we work on the design for new development projects we always have strong intentions of applying climate-responsive design and appropriate energy efficient installations to enhance the building's energy performance.

Case Study

Customs Headquarters Building at Tin Chiu Street, North Point

Project Description:

The Customs Headquarters Building is a 34-storey building which provides office accommodation, operational facilities and supporting facilities for the Customs & Excise Department.

Customs Headquarters Building at Tin Chiu Street, North Point
Customs Headquarters Building at Tin Chiu Street, North Point
Photovoltaic Panels at Roof for Electricity Generation
Photovoltaic Panels at Roof for Electricity Generation

Design and Features:

One of the sustainability features of the project is the utilization of renewable energy through:

  • Installation of 60 nos. (110m2 net area) photovoltaic panels with an estimated energy output of 15kW.

The following major energy saving features are adopted for the project:

  • Installation of water-cooled heat rejection system for air-conditioning system;
  • Installation of total energy heat wheel in primary air handling unit;
  • Installation of variable air volume system for air-conditioning system;
  • Installation of CO2 sensors for control of primary air supply;
  • Installation of occupancy & daylight sensors for control of air-conditioning and lighting systems;
  • Installation of high efficiency T5 fluorescent lamps with electronic ballasts;
  • Installation of LED exit signs; and
  • Installation of service-on-demand control for escalators.

Prince of Wales Hospital Extension Block

Project Description:

The project is a new development situated at the original helipad location at the Prince of Wales Hospital. Site Area is about 16,279 square metres and total Gross Floor Area is 71,445 square metres. Equipped with the most advanced medical facilities, the 13-storey new block houses a comprehensive range of clinical areas for services in accident & emergency treatment, pharmacy, diagnostic radiology, cardiovascular intervention centre, rapid response laboratory, operating theatres, skin bank and burns centre, intensive care unit and various kinds of patient wards.

Prince of Wales Hospital Extension Block
Prince of Wales Hospital Extension Block

Design and Features:

The block is a traditional reinforced concrete structure. Externally, the façade is composed of modular tinted glazed windows, aluminium sunshades, aluminium cladding panels and louvers. These features work as an insulation layer to reduce solar heat gain and help to reduce energy consumption for air conditioning. Internally, modular steel panel partition system and solid lightweight concrete infill wall system replace some parts of traditional block wall partitioning for reducing on-site construction waste.

The major public areas, such as main entrance foyer and typical passenger lift lobbies, are provided with glazed curtain wall and windows to maximize the use of day-lighting to achieve energy efficiency and enhance the ambience of internal space. The landscape gardens with existing trees at ground floor, podium roof at both level 6 and level 7, and on the roof can minimize heat gain and create a pleasant environment.

Landscape Garden at podium roof
Landscape Garden at podium roof

To enhance hygienic standard and water consumption efficiency, automatic sensor water taps and low-volume cisterns are installed. Energy saving LED light bulbs and T5 fluorescent tubes are installed. Heat recovery chillers are installed to recover waste heat for pre-heating potable/non-potable water and outdoor air dehumidification. Heat recovery air systems using heat wheels or heat pipes are provided for full outdoor air supply areas. The air handling system for ICU and ID wards has the built-in flexibility to switch to re-circulating mode when the rooms are used for patients with non-airborne infectious diseases, which consumes less energy. Demand control for air conditioning and electrical installations (e.g. variable speed pump for chilled and heating water supply systems, variable speed control of AHU and fans, air-conditioning systems using VAV system, outdoor air supply demand control by CO2 level monitoring, winter reset of room temperature, automatic temperature and lighting setback control, motion detectors to switch on/off lighting and air-conditioning in small offices etc.) are adopted to further reduce energy consumption.

Top

建築署
可持續發展報告2011

節能設計

政府一直全力推動興建環保建築物。2009年,發展局與環境局聯合發表技術通告,就所有新建和現有政府建築物制訂以節能目標為本的環保能效框架,推廣建造環保建築物。

誠如技術通告所述,所有建築面積超過10,000平方米的新政府建築物,均應盡量達到本地認可建築環境評估系統中不低於第二最高級別的評級要求,例如香港綠色建築議會開發的「建築環境評估法」(BEAM)。此外,所有建築面積超過10,000平方米的新政府建築物,能源效益應高於機電工程署《建築物能源效益守則》所訂水平的指定百分比。

為達到上述要求,我們積極擔當顧問角色,向相關決策局和政府部門提供能源績效方面的意見。我們一直與機電工程署衷力合作,提供詳盡的資料,輔助界定各類樓宇的能源績效基準,以不斷提高水平。與此同時,我們構思新發展項目時也非常重視節能,盡可能選用氣候適應性設計和適當的高能源效益裝置,藉以改進建築物的能源績效。

個案研究

海關總部大樓 ─ 北角電照街

工程項目簡介:

海關總部大樓樓高34層,內設香港海關的寫字樓、營運設施及相關配套設施。

位於北角電照街的海關總部大樓
位於北角電照街的海關總部大樓
屋頂裝設太陽能光伏板供電
屋頂裝設太陽能光伏板供電

設計與特色:

項目其中一項可持續發展措施是採用可再生能源:

  • 安裝60塊(淨面積110平方米)太陽能光伏板,預計輸出電能為15千瓦。

以下是項目的重要節能措施:

  • 安裝水冷式散熱空調系統;
  • 安裝能量熱輪於鮮風櫃內;
  • 安裝空調變風量系統;
  • 安裝二氧化碳感應裝置控制鮮風供應;
  • 安裝移動及日光感應器控制空調及照明系統;
  • 安裝高效能的T5光管和電子鎮流器;
  • 安裝發光二極管(LED)出路指示燈;及
  • 安裝按需求服務的自動梯。

威爾斯親王醫院擴建大樓

工程項目簡介:

新的擴建大樓在威爾斯親王醫院直昇機停機坪原址興建,佔地約16,279平方米,總樓面面積為71,445平方米。樓高13層的新大樓裝設齊全的先進醫療設備,內設多種臨床服務,包括意外急症及緊急護理、配藥、放射診斷、心血管疾病治療中心、特快服務化驗室、手術室、皮膚庫及燒傷治療中心、深切治療部和不同級別的病房。

威爾斯親王醫院擴建大樓
威爾斯親王醫院擴建大樓

設計與特色:

大樓以傳統鋼筋混凝土結構興建。外牆由茶色隔熱玻璃模塊窗戶、鋁質遮陽裝置、鋁質面板和百葉板組成,既可作隔熱層降低外牆透熱量,又可減低空調系統的能源耗用量。大樓內部裝有模塊鋼板間隔系統和實心輕質內填混凝土牆系統,取代傳統砌塊牆間隔,可減少工地現場的建築廢料。

主要公眾地方,例如正門入口大堂和載客升降機大堂,均裝設玻璃幕牆和窗戶,盡量利用自然採光以增加能源效益,以及優化室內空間感。地下、6至7樓平台及天台的園境花園保留了原有樹木,可減低面板透熱量,還可美化環境。

天台園境花園
天台園境花園

為提高衛生水平及用水效益,擴建大樓裝設自動感應式水龍頭和低容量沖廁水箱,照明採用節能的LED燈泡和T5光管,並安裝熱回收冷水機組回收廢熱,以用於預熱食水/非食水和室外空氣抽濕。另所有室外通風地方均裝設熱輪或熱管式熱回收通風系統。深切治療部及傳染病治療病房的空氣處理系統則內置靈活控制功能,假如入住的病人並非患上空氣傳播疾病,便會切換為再循環模式節省能源。為進一步降低能源使用量,空調及電力裝置特別採用按需求服務的控制器(例如:冷水及熱水供應系統的變速泵、空氣處理裝置和風機的變速控制器、採用變風量系統的空調系統、透過監察二氧化碳水平供應室外空氣需量的控制裝置、冬季室溫重設裝置、自動溫度及照明退位控制裝置、小型辦公室開/關照明和空調裝置的移動感應器等)。