Sustainability Report 2011
Banner
Greening and Landscaping

In 2010-11, ArchSD has continued to include roof greening where practicable in new government buildings which have usable roof area, and encourage the management departments of existing government buildings to consider the installation of green roofs whenever there are major works involving the roofs of the buildings concerned. ArchSD has also continued to explore opportunities for vertical greening in new government buildings and, with the accumulation of experience of successful installations, has encouraged the management departments of existing government buildings to consider installing vertical greening whenever practicable. In 2011-12, ArchSD will continue to encourage roof greening and vertical greening wherever practicable when giving advice to other government bureaux/departments, and to monitor the performance of roof greening and vertical greening applications in our projects.

As an ongoing initiative, ArchSD will continue to enhance greening and landscaping through maximisation of greenery coverage, including roof greening and vertical greening. On the enhancement of practices on tree management, ArchSD will pursue the various initiatives following the policy directives and guiding requirements from the Tree Management Office of Development Bureau. ArchSD will continue to carry out tree risk assessment in 2011-12 for the trees under its maintenance jurisdiction and those within the construction sites of its new works projects. ArchSD will continue to liaise closely with related professional institutes and organisations to enhance partnership and collaboration in promoting greening, landscaping and tree management in the industry and, where opportunities arise, will conduct seminars and workshops for experience sharing.

From 2001 to March 2011, ArchSD completed roof greening on 100 new buildings and 65 existing buildings and vertical greening on 14 new buildings. Energy is saved as a result as the greenery can reduce the solar heat transfer to buildings. The amount of energy saved depends on the shape of the building and the sun path over it, depth of the insulating planting soil and the type of greening.

Case Study - Redevelopment of Lo Wu Correctional Institution

Project Description:

The redevelopment comprises three new correctional facilities which include two medium-security and one minimum-security facilities with a capacity to accommodate 1,400 inmates. The new institution provides better facilities for inmates' rehabilitation, including a multi-media education centre, vocational training workshops, parent-child centres, recreational facilities, multi-purpose classrooms and counselling rooms.

Greening and Landscaping Features:

With careful site planning for this redevelopment project, the institution maximized the land-use and at the same time achieved a high level of greening despite various tight design guidelines for a correctional institute.

The design demonstrated a high degree of coherence between building structures with the existing rural setting. Vertical greening was provided at the retaining wall and soft landscaping was extensively applied at open area near the dormitories and buildings outside the security zone. In addition, green roofs were also provided at the dormitory blocks in order to reduce the heat gain of the building structure. With proper planning and placement of trees, shrubs and turf, the premises demonstrated a balance of the landscape with the environment.

Vertical Greening on the Retaining Wall
Vertical Greening on the Retaining Wall

Case Study - HKSAR's Participation in the World Exposition 2010 Shanghai, China
Hong Kong Pavilion

Project Description:

The design of the Hong Kong Pavilion originated from a Concept Design Competition staged by Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau (CMAB) and ArchSD in 2008. ArchSD was responsible for the project management, from the Concept Design Competition, tendering and appointing the contractor to conduct the architectural design and construction, to project monitoring and supervision the building project.

The theme of the Pavilion is "Hong Kong – Potential Unlimited". The Hong Kong Pavilion was a three-storey building with an external aluminum and glass facade which showcased the infinite imagination and creativity of Hong Kong and its people in the World Exposition 2010 Shanghai. The Hong Kong Pavilion aimed to provide visitors with a stunning impression of Hong Kong as a modern, open, free and transparent society.

The Pavilion provided a total of 800 square metres of exhibition space, showing three exhibition themes namely "Connected to the Global Village", "Connected by Ideas, Information and Diversity" and "Connected to Nature" at three levels.

Greening and Landscaping Features:

The landscape design concept for the Hong Kong Pavilion was a celebration of the city's connectivity with the natural world. It showcased Hong Kong's rich natural heritage and the manner in which the dense urban cityscape co-exists sustainably with extensive swathes of greenbelt, wetland and woodland areas that cover almost 70 per cent of Hong Kong's land mass.

As such, we put substantial efforts in applying various landscaping features such as replicated wetland, shrubs, plantations and trees within the roof level of this modern structure. Visitors were surprised by the extent of natural landscape showcased in the Pavilion during their visits.

Highlights of the greening and landscaping features demonstrated in the Hong Kong Pavilion were:

  • External pavers at ground level are recycled products consisting of recycled glass and aggregates. The pavers can remove air pollutants and significantly improve the air quality. With the incorporation of Titanium Dioxide (TiO2), they are capable of removing Nitrous Oxides (NOx), a major air pollutant and greenhouse gas, by at least 10%;
  • Solar panels on the roof provide a sustainable energy source i.e. electricity for the landscape lighting on roof;
  • Intimate natural wetland on roof of Hong Kong Pavilion, with miniature of aquatic, semi-aquatic and terrestrial habitats in the same area;
  • Simple planter trays set on rooftop planted with low maintenance requirement species act as an insulation layer to reduce direct sunlight absorption by the concrete roof slab;
  • Installation of Plasma Huts with multimedia effect and able to be viewed in different heights for users including people with disability, to showcase the variety of Hong Kong Wetland animals to the visitors;
  • Installation of sky tubes and perforated aluminium claddings to allow natural lights entering the interior of the Hong Kong Pavilion
  • Water elements such as the two vertical cascades down the facade improve the micro-climate around the Pavilion; and
  • Folded aluminium cladding, which is detached from the glass enclosure to allow air to flow over the glass surface and helps to cool the building in hot weather.
Water Cascade along south facade
Water Cascade along south facade
Perforated Panel to allow natural lights entering the interior of the Hong Kong Pavilion
Perforated Panel to allow natural lights entering the interior of the Hong Kong Pavilion
Perforated Panel to allow natural lights entering the interior of the Hong Kong Pavilion
Artificial aquatic habitat intimate natural wetland environment
Artificial aquatic habitat intimate natural wetland environment
Artificial aquatic habitat intimate natural wetland environment
Aquatic plants used on roof
Aquatic plants used on roof
Aquatic plants used on roof
Sky tube and timber deck
Sky tube and timber deck
Sky tube and timber deck
s4
Installation of Plasma Huts with multimedia effect and able to be viewed in different heights for users including people with disability, to showcase the variety of Hong Kong wetland animals to the visitors
Installation of Plasma Huts with multimedia effect and able to be viewed in different heights for users including people with disability, to showcase the variety of Hong Kong wetland animals to the visitors
Solar Panel on roof with roof greening
Solar Panel on roof with roof greening
Top

建築署
可持續發展報告2011

綠化園境

在2010-11年度,建築署繼續在可行的情況下在有可利用屋頂面積的新政府建築物上,加入屋頂綠化,並繼續鼓勵現有政府建築物的管理部門,每當有關建築物屋頂進行主要工程時,便應考慮進行屋頂綠化工程。此外,建築署又繼續尋求機會,在新政府建築物進行垂直綠化,並且在新建築物工程推行垂直綠化方面累積了成功經驗後,在實際可行的情況下,鼓勵現有政府建築物的管理部門考慮進行垂直綠化。在2011-12年度,當建築署向其他決策局/部門提供意見時,會繼續鼓勵在可行的情況下進行屋頂綠化和垂直綠化,還會監察本署工程中推行屋頂綠化和垂直綠化措施的成效。

建築署會繼續通過擴大綠化面積(包括進行屋頂綠化和垂直綠化),加強綠化和園境工作。至於加強樹木管理的措施方面,建築署會按照發展局樹木管理辦事處的政策指示和規定推行各項措施。在2011-12年度,署方會繼續為其負責護養的樹木及其進行的新工程項目工地內的樹木展開樹木風險評估。此外,建築署會繼續與有關的專業團體和組織保持緊密聯繫,促進彼此的合作,共同在業界推廣綠化、園境及樹木管理。如有機會,建築署會舉辦座談會和工作坊分享經驗。

由2001年至2011年3月,建築署為100座新建築物及65座現有建築物完成屋頂綠化工程,並為14座新建築物完成垂直綠化工程。綠化可減少太陽傳熱至建築物,從而有助節省能源。至於可節省多少能源,則視乎建築物的形狀、陽光經過建築物的路徑、種植土壤的深度及綠化的種類。

個案研究 - 重建羅湖懲教所

工程項目簡介:

重建羅湖懲教所這工程項目共有三座新建懲教設施,其中兩座為中度設防設施,另一座屬低度設防設施,可容納1,400名囚犯。新懲教所為囚犯提供更佳的自新設施,包括多媒體教育中心、職業培訓工作坊、親子中心、康樂設施、多用途課室和輔導室。

綠化及園境特色:

這項重建工程項目的地盤規劃仔細周全,懲教所將土地物盡其用。儘管懲教設施受制於嚴格的設計指引,綠化率亦甚高。

重建後的羅湖懲教所建築結構與現有鄉郊環境協調融和,護土牆進行了垂直綠化,宿舍和保安區外建築物附近的休憩用地則廣泛種植花卉樹木。此外,多幢宿舍亦進行屋頂綠化減少建築結構的太陽熱增量。由於樹木、灌木和草地規劃及分佈完善,物業與周遭環境和諧共融。

護土牆採用垂直綠化
護土牆採用垂直綠化

個案研究 - 香港特別行政區參與中國上海2010世博會
香港館

工程項目簡介:

香港館的設計概念源於2008年初以政制及內地事務局(CMAB)與建築署舉辦的香港館概念設計比賽的意念為藍本。建築署負責工程項目管理,從概念設計比賽,招標委員聘建築設計和施工的承建商,至策劃及監督建築工程項目。

香港館以「無限城市 — 香港」為主題。展館樓高三層,展館頂層和底層的外牆,以多層縐折鋁板由預製結構和玻璃複合而成,展示香港和香港人的無限潛能和創意。讓參觀者體驗香港的內通外連及創意無限。

香港館的總展覽面積為800平方米,每層有不同主題,按層分為三個主題展區 — 「有形的連繫」、「無形的連繫」及「與自然的連繫」。

綠化及園境特色:

香港館的園境設計概念突顯香港華都與大自然依偎並存的優勢,突顯香港豐碩的自然遺產,以及高廈林立的市區可持續地與廣闊綠帶、濕地和林地共存,綠化地帶更佔全港土地面積近70%。

為實現設計的理念,我們悉力建設多項園境措施,包括模擬天然濕地、灌木林和樹林。不同生境一應俱全,令到場來賓大感驚喜。

香港館的綠化及持續發展設計包括:

  • 外圍地磚選用的環保磚是來自回收被廢棄的玻璃瓶和混凝土廢料處理並加工製成。環保磚的另一特色是加入的二氧化鈦,可以有效地去除空氣中的污染物,改善空氣質素。在有陽光和氧氣的環境下,可加速分解主要空氣污染物和溫室氣體的化亞氮,令路旁的污染物減少百分之十。屋頂太陽能光伏板提供電力予頂層的照明設施;
  • 香港館屋頂設有模擬天然濕地,水棲、半水棲和陸棲生境一應俱全;
  • 綠化頂層讓展館減少反射面及熱力吸收平面,提供隔熱作用,減低熱量進入館內;
  • 安裝具多功能的等離子屏幕,讓不同高度的使用者(包括行動不便人士)可在不同的高度觀賞,向旅客介紹本港濕地動物的種類;
  • 安裝透光井和穿孔鋁板使自然光能進入室內等候區和主要人流來往部分,減少日間人工光源的使用;
  • 展館外立面設有兩道景觀水廉,有助於改善小環境,在高溫的夏天可發揮降溫的效果;及
  • 外牆縐折鋁板表面與玻璃立面間的空氣層,可阻斷熱量交換和容許空氣流通,並有助降低玻璃表面溫度。
南面外牆的景觀水簾
南面外牆的景觀水簾
穿孔鋁板讓自然光能進入香港館室內
穿孔鋁板讓自然光能進入香港館室內
穿孔鋁板讓自然光能進入香港館室內
人工水棲生境模擬天然濕地環境
人工水棲生境模擬天然濕地環境
人工水棲生境模擬天然濕地環境
屋頂水棲植物
屋頂水棲植物
屋頂水棲植物
透光井及木棧橋面
透光井及木棧橋面
透光井及木棧橋面
安裝具多功能的等離子屏幕,讓使用者可在不同的高度觀賞,向包括行動不便人士及旅客介紹本港濕地動物的種類
安裝具多功能的等離子屏幕,讓使用者可在不同的高度觀賞,向包括行動不便人士及旅客介紹本港濕地動物的種類
安裝具多功能的等離子屏幕,讓使用者可在不同的高度觀賞,向包括行動不便人士及旅客介紹本港濕地動物的種類
綠化屋頂及太陽能光伏板
綠化屋頂及太陽能光伏板