Skip to main content
Architectural Services Department
Low Carbon Buildings for a Greener Future
Sustainability Report 2012
Resources Utilization and Conservation

Low Carbon Building Design

Low carbon building design is an important aspect to achieve sustainable development in our community. Throughout the years, ArchSD has been striving to bring in low carbon design elements into architectural projects. We believe that the emergence of applying low carbon design initiatives can provide a significant effect on the need for creating more sustainable and energy efficient buildings and facilities, which will benefit our society at the end.

Energy conservation is one of our prime concerns when we consider adopting low carbon design in our projects.Since 2011 some ArchSD projects have been selected as energy efficiency demonstration projects for testing out the extent of saving when all the energy saving equioment/systems were put together.

In these demonstration projects, energy efficient designs and technologies such as use of energy efficient building materials, installation of building energy management system, adoption of automatic building ventilation system, adoption of renewable energy, installation of efficient lighting control, optimization of equipment control etc. have been widely adopted. It is anticipated that these projects will set good examples in promoting the use of energy efficient designs and technologies for the construction industry.

Case Study

Secondary School near Choi Wan Road and Jordan Valley, Kwun Tong

Project Description:

This project, a holistic approach has been adopted to enhance the environmental performance including various aspects.

Overview of the Secondary School

Overview of the Secondary School

Design and Features:

In addition to adopting common environmental and energy efficient features that are included in other government projects (e.g. heat energy reclaim for ventilation system; T5 energy efficient fluorescent tubes with electronic ballast; occupancy sensors and daylight sensors and light emitting diode (LED) type exit signs etc.), this project has incorporated addtional environmental and energy efficient features, with the purpose of exploring and identifying suitable technologies for wider adoption in future.

Examples of these additional environmental and energy efficient features are highlighted below:

  • Building Energy Management System: Provision of flexible control for building engineering systems to suit usage patterns. The system will enable scheduled control on lighting and central dimming, automatic reduction or termination of air-conditioning when the room is unoccupied, and provide energy consumption records for energy audit and review;
  • Renewable Energy Installations: Promotion of alternative and clean source of electricity using solar and wind power, including photovoltaic (PV) panels (thin film PV and sun tracking PV), solar water heaters, small scale wind turbine and daylight sun tubes;
PV Panels with Sun Tracking System

PV Panels with Sun Tracking System

  • Energy Efficient Ventilation and Air-conditioning System -
  1. Adoption of Water-cooled Variable Refrigerant Volume (VRV) air-conditioning system, which is more energy efficient than air-cooled air-conditioning system;
  2. Installation of occupancy sensor control for air-conditioning supply;
  3. Installation of demand control of supply and fresh air with carbon dioxide sensors; and
  4. Installation of variable speed fans and motors

It is expected that the annual Greenhouse Gas (GHG) saving for the school would be about 30 tonnes carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2-e), about 40% less emission comparing with that of a typical school in Hong Kong.

The project has obtained a certificate in Hong Kong Building Environmental Assessment Method (BEAM 4/04) with platinum rating in 2012.

 

Cruise Terminal Building for the Kai Tak Development Area

Project Description:

The scope of the project comprises the development of new cruise terminal facilities on a site of 7.6 hectares at the southern end of the former runway at the Kai Tak Airport.

The cruise terminal has four main atria placed at regular intervals extending to the full height of a 3-storey building. The atria design allows natural light into the premises in order to provide a natural and vibrant environment.

A green landscape design at the roof deck has been adopted to provide a breathtaking waterfront views for the public to enjoy even if they are not taking a cruise vacation. The design also serves as an urban oasis for both tourists and the public to enjoy the tranquil surroundings and undertake leisure activities.

Sustainable design features such as photovoltaic systems, rain water recycling system for irrigation, service-on-demand controls for escalators and passenger conveyors, carbon dioxide sensors and building energy management system are widely used within the terminal building. The building will be connected to District Cooling System which provides chilled water to the air-conditioning system to achieve energy efficient air-conditioning.

Artist's Impression on the Cruise Terminal

Artist's Impression on the Cruise Terminal

 

Trade and Industry Tower in Kai Tak Development Area

Project Description:

This building is a 22-storey government building, offering a total net operational floor area of about 33,000 m2 to house various government departments, in particular Trade and Industry Department. In addition, a community hall with a seating capacity of 450 persons and other supporting facilities will be provided for organizing community activities in the Kowloon City district.

Artist's Impression on the Trade and Industry Tower
1
Artist's Impression on the Trade and Industry Tower
1
The Building Integrated Photo-voltaic Panels
2
  1. Artist's Impression on the Trade and Industry Tower
  2. The Building Integrated Photo-voltaic Panels

Design and Features:

The construction of the building aims for certification under the BEAM 4/04 with platinum rating and the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification programme, which will incorporate many energy-efficient designs and technologies. Various applications of renewable energy technologies, photovoltaic systems, solar hot water systems, solar chimney and daylight sun-tubes will be adopted. The building will also be connected to the District Cooling System to achieve energy efficient air-conditioning and to provide more space for green roof.

Other energy conservation and environmental features will also be applied in the building, which include:

  • desiccant wheels dehumidification for fresh air;
  • automatic static pressure reset control for air supply;
  • free air cooling system for large server rooms;
  • heat recovery system for condensate;
  • brushless motor for fan coil units;
  • light-emitting diode type down lights and landscape lights;
  • task lighting;
  • lift power regeneration system; and
  • sun tracking light pipes.

Apart from planting lush landscaping on the ground floor, landscaped elevated walkway and the main roof, the building tower will feature vertical greening on the building façades. It is anticipated that the overall greening of this project will account for more than 30% of the site area.

In terms of recycling and other environmental features, the project will also collect and recycle rainwater for landscape irrigation, adopt an automatic refuse collection system and reuse inert construction waste to minimize disposal of waste to the public fill reception facilities.

The project is scheduled for completion in 2014.

 
Top

跳至主要內容
建築署
低碳建築共建綠色未來
可持續發展報告2012
資源運用及管理

低碳建築設計

低碳建築設計是在社區倡導可持續發展的重要環節。建築署多年來致力在建築工程項目注入低碳設計元素,我們相信倡議低碳設計可推動業界創造更符合可持續發展原則及高能源效益的樓宇和設施,最終會造福廣大社會。

我們研究在個別工程項目採用低碳設計時,節約能源是考慮要點之一。自2011年開始,我們會挑選部份工程項目作為能源效益示範工程項目,以便測試在安裝不同的節能設備後可達致的節能效果。

我們會在所選的能源效益示範工程項目廣泛採用富能源效益的設計和技術,例如選用高能源效益建築材料、安裝樓宇能源管理系統、自動化樓宇通風系統、採用可再生能源、安裝高效能照明控制裝置和優化設備控制等,我們估計這些工程項目可發揮模範作用,倡領建築業積極採用富能源效益的設計和技術。

個案研究

觀塘彩雲道及佐敦谷附近中學校舍發展項目

工程項目簡介:

這工程項目採用全方位環保設計,務求在各方面達到理想的環保效能。

中學校舍外貌

中學校舍外貌

設計特點:

校舍大樓齊備其他政府樓宇發展項目常見的環保及能源效益特色(例如回收熱能源驅動通風系統;選用裝有電子鎮流器的T5高能源效益光管;安裝移動及日光感應器和發光二極管(LED)出路指示燈等),除此之外並加設多項環保及能源效益功能,方便我們研究和識別適合的技術,日後廣泛用於其他工程項目。

新增的環保和能源效益功能包括:

  • 樓宇能源管理系統:可根據使用模式靈活控制樓宇內各工程系統。這套系統能預設定時控制照明裝置及中央調節燈光,還可自動調減或關掉無人房間的空調,此外並可提供能源審計和評估所需的能源消耗量記錄;
  • 可再生能源裝置:提倡使用太陽能和風能等另類無污染發電模式,包括太陽能光伏板(以及薄膜型太陽能光伏板和裝有太陽追蹤器的太陽能光伏板)、太陽能熱水器、小型風力渦輪機和太陽光導管;
裝有太陽追蹤器的太陽能光伏板

裝有太陽追蹤器的太陽能光伏板

  • 高能源效益通風及空調系統:
  1. 採用水冷式可變冷媒流量系統(VRV),能源效益比氣冷式空調系統更佳;
  2. 安裝移動感應器控制空調供應;
  3. 空調按需求供應,鮮風供應設有二氧化碳感應器;及
  4. 安裝變速風機及馬達。

據估計,校方每年排放的溫室氣體可減少約30噸二氧化碳當量,排放量比香港一般學校少約40%。

這工程項目達到香港建築環境評估法(BEAM 4/04)鉑金級標準,2012年獲發證書。

 

啟德發展計劃中的郵輪碼頭大樓

工程項目簡介:

這工程項目的土地面積達7.6公頃,位於啟德發展計劃前機場跑道南端,在該處發展新的郵輪碼頭設施。

郵輪碼頭大樓共設四個三層高的中庭,沿直線逐一排列,促進天然採光,讓陽光透進室內,感覺自然開豁,活力盎然。

屋頂設有綠化園境觀景台,公眾毋須乘郵輪度假也可飽覽海港美景,此外設計也刻意將大樓打造成都市綠洲,讓遊客和市民享受寧靜環境,還可進行各式消閑活動。

郵輪碼頭大樓廣泛採用可持續發展設計特色,例子包括太陽能光伏板系統、用於灌溉植物的雨水回收系統、按需求服務的自動扶梯及乘客輸送帶、二氧代碳感應器和樓宇能源管理系統。大樓亦會接駁區域供冷系統,提高空調系統的能源效益。

藝術家意念下的郵輪碼頭

藝術家意念下的郵輪碼頭

 

啟德發展計劃的工業貿易大樓

工程項目簡介:

這幢樓高22層的政府建築物,總營運樓面面積約33,000平方米,將會是多個政府部門的辦事處,其中工業貿易署是最大用戶。除寫字樓設施外,大樓還設有可容納450人的社區會堂和其他配套設施,供九龍城區居民舉辦各類社區活動。

藝術家意念下的工業貿易大樓
1
藝術家意念下的工業貿易大樓
1
裝設太陽能光伏板的建築物
2
  1. 藝術家意念下的工業貿易大樓
  2. 裝設太陽能光伏板的建築物

設計特點:

這工程項目以達到香港建築環境評估法(BEAM 4/04)鉑金級標準和美國環保建築認證(LEED)為目標,因此將全面採用高能源效益設計和技術,包括採用多種可再生能源技術、太陽能光伏板系統、太陽能熱水器系統、太陽能煙囪和太陽光導管。此外,大樓並會接駁區域供冷系統,提高空調系統的能源效益,同時創造更多空間進行綠化屋頂。

大樓還有多項其他節能及環保特色:

  • 鮮風採用乾燥介質輪抽濕裝置;
  • 自動靜壓可改變控制鮮風供應;
  • 大型伺服器房裝設自然氣冷系統;
  • 冷凝水熱回收系統;
  • 盤管式風機採用無刷馬達;
  • 發光二極管射燈及園境燈;
  • 工作照明設計;
  • 電梯電能再生系統;及
  • 裝有太陽追蹤器的光管。

綠化方面,除了地下樓層滿目蒼翠外,高架行人走廊和主屋頂也進行園境綠化,大樓面牆則會進行垂直綠化。工程項目整體的綠化設施估計會佔地盤面積逾30%。

這工程項目也設有不少回收再循環和其他環保特色,例如回收雨水再用於園境灌溉、採用自動廢物回收系統和盡量再用惰性建築廢物,務求將運往公眾堆填區的廢物量減至最少。

工業貿易大樓預計於2014年竣工。