Low Carbon Building Design

Buildings account for nearly 90% of electricity consumption in Hong Kong. Reducing the amount of energy consumed for the operation of buildings is paramount to reduce carbon emissions and combat climate change. As such, we have devoted utmost efforts to promote low carbon building design and to adopt various cutting-edge technologies and systems to enhance energy efficiency and resource conservation in our development projects.

During the year, we have consolidated our best practices and developed the Sustainable Building Design Considerations Guidelines. The Guidelines aim to provide general guidance, reference and key issues that need to be considered in implementing sustainability elements for building services installations and the construction methods and materials adopted. It is expected to be launched in Q4 of 2014. In addition, we also developed a standard Particular Specification (PS) for the design of the ArchSD temporary site office to further promote the use of green materials.

We believe the technological advancements in environmental protection can co-exist with aesthetics and functionality of architectural design. We embrace every opportunity to incorporate sustainable design and green measures in our building projects in order to support the transformation of the cityscape into more sustainable and livable.

 

Case Study

Construction of Fire Station-cum-Ambulance Facility at Cheung Yip Street, Kowloon Bay

The fire station provides fire and emergency ambulance services for the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal as well as future developments in Kai Tak area. With a site area of 2,250 m2, the project consists of a six-storey building accommodating a four-bay appliance room with ancillary and supporting facilities, and a single-storey building to support urban search and rescue operation.

Overview of Fire Station-cum-ambulance Facility at Cheung Yip Street

Overview of Fire Station-cum-ambulance Facility at Cheung Yip Street

The elements of greening are well integrated into the design of the fire station. About 43% of green coverage has been achieved through multiple planters and vertical greening above ground level and green roofs, which is double the minimum requirement (20%) for Government buildings. Continuous planters along the boundary edge further soften the rectilinear and angled building form and minimise visual impact of the building mass.

Up to 43% of green coverage has been achieved through green wall and green roofs
Up to 43% of green coverage has been achieved through green wall and green roofs

Up to 43% of green coverage has been achieved through green wall and green roofs

Regarding sustainable design features, the building has been able to introduce as much natural daylight into the interior space as possible through large windows and skylights composed of heat insulating glass, solar tubes and provision of balconies. Sun-shading fins have been installed on the west-facing external wall to minimise energy consumption of the air-conditioning system. Furthermore, water permeable paving blocks made of recycled materials have been used on the external ground.

Through adopting various sustainable design, the project has obtained provisional Platinum rating in “Building Environmental Assessment Method (BEAM) Plus New Buildings” by the Hong Kong Green Building Council.

Ample plantings including vertical greening and stacked planters are blended into the elevations

Ample plantings including vertical greening and stacked planters are blended into the elevations

Case Study

Joint-user Complex at Bailey Street, To Kwan Wan Reclamation

Overview of Joint-user Complex at Bailey Street

Overview of Joint-user Complex at Bailey Street

The theme of the Complex is to create a human-orientated civic focus to rejuvenate the To Kwa Wan precinct within the Kowloon City District and at the same time to accommodate new, expanded and merged Government services. The complex includes a community hall, a maternal and child health centre, a families clinic, a dental clinic and office accommodation for the Government.

With a site area of 2,200 m2, the project has incorporated many different forms of environment-friendly building services systems including, water cooled chillers, automatic demand control systems, heat energy reclaim system, T5 fluorescent tubes with electronic ballast, daylight sensors, service-on-demand control for escalator, building energy management system and solar hot water system.

The complex has adopted various energy efficient lighting equipment for illumination purpose
The complex has adopted various energy efficient lighting equipment for illumination purpose

The complex has adopted various energy efficient lighting equipment for illumination purpose

For recycled features, a rainwater and condensate recycling system is provided for irrigation and flushing respectively to conserve water. Solar powered microclimate station is adopted to control the irrigation system.

The complex has established green roofs and terraces, and vertical greening on external walls for environmental and amenity benefits
The complex has established green roofs and terraces, and vertical greening on external walls for environmental and amenity benefits

The complex has established green roofs and terraces, and vertical greening on external walls for environmental and amenity benefits

In terms of greenery area, the ratio is significantly higher in this building. There is about 911m2 of soft landscape area, equivalent to 41.4% of the site area, much higher than the 20% statutory requirements for similar sites. The extensive greenery would ameliorate heat island effect by reducing temperature of heat-absorbing surfaces.

The Complex finally achieved the highest rating of "Platinum" in the Building Environmental Assessment Method (BEAM) New Building Development (Version 4/04), endorsed by the Hong Kong Green Building Council.

低碳建築設計

香港近九成用電量來自建築物,若可減少建築物日常營運的能耗,碳排放自可大幅下降,有助紓緩氣候變化。有見及此,建築署不遺餘力地推廣低碳建築設計,並採用各類新穎的尖端技術及系統,全面提升轄下發展項目的能源效益和節省資源。

年內,我們綜合所有良好作業守則,編彙成為《可持續發展建築設計考慮因素指南》,旨在提供一般指引和參考資料,以及介紹在屋宇裝備裝置加入可持續發展元素時應考慮的主要因素,以及可採用的建造方法與物料。指南預計於2014年第4季推出。此外,我們並制訂了建築署臨時工地辦事處的標準「特別規格」,大力提倡使用環保物料。

我們相信隨着環境保護技術不斷發展,建築設計可在美觀與實用上兼收並蓄。正因如此,我們實施建造工程時均會盡量納入可持續發展設計和環保措施,從而優化香港的城市景貌,讓它綻放魅力,締造更可持續發展的宜居環境。

 

個案研究

九龍灣祥業街消防局暨救護設施建造工程

本消防局提供消防及緊急救護車服務,服務範圍包括啟德郵輪碼頭和日後啟德地區的發展項目。本項目的地盤面積為2,250平方米,渉及建造一座樓高六層的大樓,設有四個停車間連輔助及支援設施,另有一座專門支援坍塌搜救行動的單層建築物。

祥業街消防局暨救護設施外貌

祥業街消防局暨救護設施外貌

消防局的設計包含多項綠化元素,例如多組高出路面的花槽、垂直綠化及綠化屋頂等特色,綠化範圍廣達約43%,比政府樓宇的最低要求(20%)多一倍,消防局外圍則建有連續花槽,使建築物的直線形態和銳角變得柔和,務求盡量紓減建築群的視覺影響。

建設綠化牆和綠化屋頂,令綠化範圍高達43%
建設綠化牆和綠化屋頂,令綠化範圍高達43%

建設綠化牆和綠化屋頂,令綠化範圍高達43%

在可持續發展設計特色方面,大樓特別引入隔熱玻璃大型窗戶和天窗、太陽能管及露台,盡量使用天然採光,讓陽光透進室內。為盡量節約空調系統的能源消耗量,向西面的一面外牆裝設遮光飾件。此外,室外地面亦鋪砌以循環再造物料製成的透水路磚。

這宗工程項目融入多項可持續發展設計特色,現已取得香港綠色建築議會的新建築物綠建環評(BEAM Plus)暫定鉑金評級。

充分利用植物優化環境,包括垂直綠化及堆疊式花槽,與建築物渾然為一

充分利用植物優化環境,包括垂直綠化及堆疊式花槽,與建築物渾然為一

個案研究

土瓜灣填海區庇利街聯用綜合大樓

庇利街聯用綜合大樓外貌

庇利街聯用綜合大樓外貌

綜合大樓的主題是營造以人為本的文娛匯點,活化九龍城區內的土瓜灣區,與此同時容納多項新建、擴建和合併的政府服務設施。大樓包括社區會堂、母嬰健康中心、公務員及家屬診所、牙科診所及多個政府辦事處。

本項目的工地面積為2,200 平方米,裝有多個環保屋宇裝備系統,包括水冷式冷凍機、響應需求的自動操控系統、熱能回收系統、T5光管連鎮流器、日光感應器、按服務需求控制的自動扶梯、大廈能源管理系統及太陽能熱水系統。

綜合大樓採用了多種高能源效益的照明裝置
綜合大樓採用了多種高能源效益的照明裝置

綜合大樓採用了多種高能源效益的照明裝置

大樓設有雨水及冷凝水回收系統,回收廢水作灌溉及沖廁用途,達到節約用水的效果。灌溉系統由太陽能驅動的微氣候站控制。

大樓建有綠化屋頂及陽台,外牆則設有垂直綠化,成為美化環境的宜人景觀
大樓建有綠化屋頂及陽台,外牆則設有垂直綠化,成為美化環境的宜人景觀

大樓建有綠化屋頂及陽台,外牆則設有垂直綠化,成為美化環境的宜人景觀

本項目的綠化地方比率特別高,花卉樹木種植範圍約911平方米,佔工地面積41.4%,遠高於同類工地的20%法定下限。廣泛栽種植物可降低吸熱表面的溫度,從而紓緩熱島效應。大樓最後經香港綠色建築議會評定,取得新建築物綠建環評(BEAM Plus)(4/04版)的最高鉑金評級。