Skip to main content

Greening and Landscaping

As an on-going initiative, ArchSD strives to enhance greening and landscaping through maximisation of greenery coverage, including roof greening and vertical greening. Responsible for the development and upkeep of government facilities, we make every effort to promote best practices of roof greening and vertical greening to various government departments and quasi-government organisations on subvented projects.

In 2014, we completed 4 projects with green roofs on new buildings and 7 projects with retrofitted green roofs on existing buildings as well as 5 projects with vertical greening on new buildings for different government bureaux/departments and related organisations, including Education Bureau, Correctional Services Department, Leisure and Cultural Services Department, and Marine Department, etc. The types of buildings/facilities cover cultural complex, park, library, school, sports centre, swimming pool complex, dockyard and prison.

Extensive lawn is a pleasant environment for the enjoyment of Victoria Harbour

Case Study

Kwun Tong Promenade Stage 2

Located under the Kwun Tong By-pass, Kwun Tong Promenade Stage 2 is a sequel to the Stage 1 project. The design of the Promenade is to create a pleasant environment to facilitate people to enjoy the beautiful view of Victoria Harbour and the Hong Kong Island cityscape beyond, featuring with a 750-metre waterfront boardwalk. The promenade spans over 34,000 square metres, which is nearly five times of the area of Stage 1.

With a design theme “to bring Nature into our City”, over 40% of the Promenade areas are covered by green elements, including trees, shrubs, and lawns. Kerbless and extensive lawn allows the visitors to freely walk on and enjoy the beauty of “nature” in urban area. Lots of creepers have been planted along the wire mesh at the shelter structures. This will not only enhance the shading effect of the shelter, but also provide a greening effect vertically.

Over 40% of the Promenade areas covered with different green elements

Different green features such as creepers on wire mesh enhance the design theme 'to bring Nature into our City'
Different green features such as creepers on wire mesh enhance the design theme 'to bring Nature into our City'

Different green features such as creepers on wire mesh enhance the design theme 'to bring Nature into our City'

Case Study

Tiu Keng Leng Sports Centre, Tiu Keng Leng Public Library

Tseung Kwan O is a densely-populated and fast-developing new town. The population is expected to increase to 430,100 by 2019. This project was designed to meet the pressing need for public leisure and cultural facilities of residents in the southern part of Tseung Kwan O. The project consists of an open space, a district library and a sports centre. The project was completed in 2014 and commissioned since March 2015.

The district open space provides the public with landscaped sitting-out areas, fitness corners, a children’s play area, and ancillary facilities. It features a large green area of about 3,680 square metres as a multi-layered “green carpet” which covers the entire project area across different levels and embraces the two distinct building masses of the sports centre and library.

Apart from large greening landscaping areas, other green features include passive solar design for the building design, recycled rain water irrigation system, water cooled chiller for air-conditioning of the venues, solar hot water systems for water supply in changing rooms and building-integrated photovoltaic panels. Our concerted efforts were recognised by achieving BEAM Platinum rating, attaining to be a finalist for Green Building Award 2014 (New Building Category), shortlisted for World Architecture Festival (WAF) Awards 2014.

The district open space embraces the two distinct building masses of the sports centre and library

The vertical green feature wall embellishes the District Open Space

Case Study

Open Space in Area 117, Tin Shui Wai

The Government is committed to promoting the development of sport by providing a wide range of sport facilities for the community. New sports facilities in Tin Shui Wai were therefore built to cater for the needs. The project involved the construction of an artificial turf 11-a-side soccer-cum-rugby pitch and a jogging trail.

A jogging trail in the open space in Tin Shui Wai

To further enhance environmental and amenity benefits for the community, we incorporated additional planting proposals into the project, which included planting of about 90 trees, 14,200 shrubs, 68,700 ground covers, 250 climbers and 3,900 square metres of grassed area. We further made use of the open space to organise a community planting activity under the “Be Our Greening Partner” government campaign in the fourth quarter of 2014. District councillors, community leaders, football association representatives, school representatives and students were invited to green the open space.

A community planting activity was held in November 2014 to green the open space

A community planting activity was held in November 2014 to green the open space

The open space provides the community with extensive greening areas

The open space provides the community with extensive greening areas

Top

跳至主要内容

绿化园境

于回顾年度,我们继续致力扩大绿化覆盖面积,包括天台绿化和垂直绿化,以加强绿化园境工作。肩负着发展和保养政府设施是职责,我们积极地向各政府部门和受资助工程项目的半官方机构推广天台绿化和垂直绿化的最佳作业模式。

2014年,我们共有4项工程项目在新建筑物的天台完成綠化,以及有7项工程项目在现有建筑物安装綠化天台,另有5项工程项目在新建筑物安装垂直绿化。进行了上述绿化工程的政府政策局/部门及相关机构包括教育局、惩教署、康乐及文化事务署和海事处等,工程项目涵盖多类型建筑物/设施,包括文娱馆、公园、图书馆、学校、体育中心、游泳池场馆、船坞及监狱。

在广阔草坪上欣赏维港美景,确是赏心乐事

个案研究

观塘海滨长廊第二期

位于观塘绕道下方的观塘海滨长廊第二期是第一期计划的延续工程。海滨长廊的设计旨在缔造宜人的环境,让游人沿着750米长的海滨长廊,饱览美丽维港及彼岸港岛的璀璨市景。海滨长廊占地逾34,000平方米,面积约为第一期工程的五倍。

海滨长廊的设计主题为「让大自然融入都市」,绿化范围超过总面积四成,广泛栽种树木、灌丛和草坪。广阔的草坪不设路缘石分隔,游人可随意踏青漫步,在市区中享受自然景色。有盖顶篷设施的铁丝网种植了大量攀援植物,不但可遮档太阳,还有垂直绿化的效果。

海滨长廊逾四成面积栽种各类植物

铁丝网种有攀援植物和其他绿化元素,突出「让大自然融入都市」的主题
铁丝网种有攀援植物和其他绿化元素,突出「让大自然融入都市」的主题

铁丝网种有攀援植物和其他绿化元素,突出「让大自然融入都市」的主题

个案研究

调景岭体育馆、调景岭公共图书馆

将军澳新市镇人口密集,发展迅速,预计到了2019年该区人口将达到430,100人。这宗工程项目包括休憩用地、分区图书馆和体育馆,可满足将军澳南部居民对公共文康设施的殷切需要。此项目已于2014年竣工,2015年3月起正式启用。

休憩用地建有多个园境休憩处、长者健身角、儿童游乐场及附助设施,当中偌大的绿化区面积约3,680平方米,采用多层式「绿色地毡」的设计,涵盖整个项目范围。体育馆和图书馆大楼建于层层迭翠的优美环境,突显建筑美感。

除了开扬的园境外,项目还备有其他环保元素,包括建筑物采用被动式太阳能设计、雨水循环使用灌溉系统、各场地的空调系统装设水冷式制冷机、为更衣室供应热水的太阳能热水系统和附设于建筑物的光伏板系统。在建筑署各团队通力合作下,此项目达到綠建环评铂金评级,同时获选为环保建筑大奖 2014及世界建筑节大奖2014的入围项目,印证我们努力的成果。

休憩用地环抱体育馆和图书馆两座大楼
[图片来源: 吕元祥建筑师事务所]

休憩用地的垂直绿化墙
[图片来源: 吕元祥建筑师事务所]

个案研究

天水围第117区休憩用地

政府致力在各区提供多元化的体育设施,大力推广体育运动,天水围的全新体育设施正是配合这个发展方向,回应区内居民的需要。这宗工程项目包括建造一个标准11人的人工草地足球场和榄球场,以及一条缓跑径。

天水围休憩用地的缓跑径

为优化社区的环境及生活福利设施,我们在这宗工程项目纳入更多绿化方案,包括栽种约90棵树木、14,200棵灌木、68,700棵地被植物、250棵攀藤植物和3,900平方米草地。此外,我们于2014年第四季配合政府的「绿化伙伴运动」,在休憩用地举行社区植树活动,邀请区议员、社区领袖、足球总会代表、学校代表及学生栽种植物,美化休憩用地。

2014年11月在休憩用地举办社区植树活动

2014年11月在休憩用地举办社区植树活动

休憩用地为社区提供广大的绿化地方

休憩用地为社区提供广大的绿化地方