Skip to main content

Architectural Services Department - ArchSD Sustainability Report 2015

Resources Utilisation and Conservation / In-house Green Management

[Traditional Chinese Version] [Simplified Chinese Version] [Graphical Version] [About Us] [About this Report]
[Data Summary] [Feedback] [Sitemap] [Report Verification] [GRI Content Index] [Glossary]

Sub-sections in Resources Utilisation and Conservation

[ Sustainable Building Design ] [ Greening and Landscaping ] [ In-house Green Management ]

In-house Green Management

It is our goal to lead the industry by example through integrating green features into government buildings and facilities and adopting green practices where applicable. In addition to striving for excellence in building design, we have implemented a number of green initiatives to improve environmental performance in our workplace.

Energy Efficiency

ArchSD has certified to ISO 14001 Environmental Management System, ISO 9001 Quality Management System and OHSAS 18001 Occupational, Health and Safety Management System. In 2014, we have made a further step to enhance our energy performance through implementing an ISO 50001 certified Energy Management System (EnMS) for our APB Centre. By establishing the EnMS, we are able to improve our energy performance sustainably in a more systematic approach. In view of the benefit of implementing EnMS, we are currently studying the feasibility of adopting ISO 50001 for the whole department.

[s4-06-01.jpg]

Presentation of ISO 50001 EnMS Certificate for APB Centre

In 2014, we completed a number of initiatives focusing on energy conservation and operations improvement. For instance, we have re-arranged lighting by zoning that reduced using 200 lamps for 7 hours per working day, and dimmed 600 lamps resulting in a saving of 18,928 kWh per annum. We were granted “Class of Excellence” of Energywi$e Label from Hong Kong Awards for Environmental Excellence (HKAEE) to recognise our energy saving achievement.

[s4-06-02.jpg]
Presentation of Energywi$e Label of HKAEE
[s4-06-02a.jpg]
Certificate of “Class of Excellence” Energywi$e Label

Green Housekeeping

Various green housekeeping initiatives were implemented in ArchSD’s offices, such as closely monitoring on our computers’ switching on/off status, adopting LED task light to offset the lighting tubes, conducting de-lamping exercises and encouraging staff to turn off office lighting during lunch time or when unoccupied. We have implemented the rewiring works for re-arranging the lighting zone at 31/F and will implement on six other office floors in QGO and will also install LED light tube during the ceiling replacement works at 33/F. All above initiatives can reduce the electricity consumption during our daily office operation.

Carbon Footprint Management

As part of the government's initiatives to promote Green Government Building, existing government buildings with construction floor area of more than 10,000 m2 were encouraged to conduct carbon audit to track their carbon emissions. We fully support the government's call and therefore have engaged a third party to carry out carbon audit to gauge our carbon footprint and identify room for continuous improvement annually.

The carbon footprints of Queensway Government Office (QGO) and APB Centre over the past three years are as follows.

Carbon Emissions in the Queensway Government Office

[chart4-1.png]

  FY2011-12 FY2012-13 FY2013-14
Direct Emissions (Tonnes of CO2-e) 28.66 24.05 14.90
Energy Indirect Emissions (Tonnes of CO2-e) [1] 2,372.86 2,385.64 2,277.59
Other Indirect Emissions (Tonnes of CO2-e) [2] 142.94 119.25 39.02
Total (Tonnes of CO2-e) [2] 2,544.46 2,528.94 2,331.51
[1] Territory-wide default emission factor was used for the calculation of emissions.
[2] The figures in FY 2011-12, FY 2012-13 & FY 2013-14 are calculated by using the actual paper consumption (A4&A3) and waste paper collected for recycling.

We recorded a decreasing trend in carbon emissions for three consecutive years in QGO. Compared to the carbon auditing result for FY 2011-12 and FY2012-13, we successfully achieved 8.4% and 7.8% reduction in QGO respectively in FY 2013-14. The reduction in carbon emissions was mainly due to the decrease in electricity consumption and increase in waste paper recycling.

Carbon Emissions in APB Centre

[chart4-2.png]

  2012 2013 2014
Direct Emissions (Tonnes of CO2-e) 325.14 732.33 886.29
Energy Indirect Emissions (Tonnes of CO2-e) [3] 1,833.11 1,785.41 1,756.58
Other Indirect Emissions (Tonnes of CO2-e) 13.93 42.04 8.68
Total (Tonnes of CO2-e) 2,172.17 2,559.77 2,651.55
[3] Territory-wide default emission factor was used for the calculation of emissions.

In 2014, the overall carbon emissions of APB Centre increased by 3.6% as compared with the emissions in 2013. It was mainly due to refrigerant leakage under direct emissions. We will step up our monitoring and explore other possible measures to prevent leakage of refrigerant. Nevertheless, a significant decrease of 79% in other indirect emissions was recorded due to staff contribution to paper reduction and waste paper recycling in 2014.

Indoor Air Quality Management and Emissions Control

It is important to provide good indoor air quality (IAQ) in workplace to protect the health of our staff. We therefore follow the guidelines published by Environmental Protection Department to maintain our IAQ. To benchmark our IAQ level, we have participated in the IAQ Certification Scheme and achieved the "Good Class" IAQ Objective.

Apart from IAQ, we have taken measures to mitigate air pollution. For instance, we have introduced electric vehicles since early 2013 to encourage commute with low road-side emissions. In addition, ozone depleting substances are completely prohibited in the air-conditioning and fire-fighting systems in our office.

[s4-06-03.jpg]

Presentation of IAQ Certificate

Water Management

We continue to monitor fresh water and flushing water consumption at APB Centre and QGO. We have also installed water saving devices including sensor taps, dual flush cisterns and devices with water efficiency labels under Water Efficiency Labelling Scheme in APB Centre. To make water conservation becoming a general staff practice, we have incorporated water saving guidelines into the Department's General Circular "Measures of Green Housekeeping".

Materials and Waste Reduction

In line with government’s initiatives in waste reduction, we have placed collection facilities for a wide range of recyclables including waste paper, aluminium cans, plastic bottles, used CDs and DVDs, used rechargeable cells, and used printer toner cartridges in our office. In 2014, we successfully reduced A3 paper consumption by over 16% and received the “Class of Excellence” Wastewi$e Label of HKAEE to recognise our waste reduction effort. In addition, we have worked proactively with our IT equipment suppliers to reuse and recycle computers in our office.

[s4-06-04.jpg]
Presentation of Wastewi$e Label of HKAEE
[s4-06-04a.jpg]
Certificate of “Class of Excellence” Wastewi$e Label

Nurturing Green Culture

With full support from top management, we have established a team of Green Wardens (previously known as energy warden) with representatives from each division or section since 2006. Currently, we have 75 Green Wardens helping increase staff awareness of green office practices and identify opportunities for continual improvement. To thank for their dedication and effort, an appreciation letter would be presented to Green Wardens with outstanding performance every year to recognise their contribution.

[s4-06-05.jpg]

Green Wardens Meeting

To equip our staff with necessary environmental knowledge, we encourage staff members at different levels to participate in appropriate training courses and obtain professional qualification. As at July 2014, 222 staff members of ArchSD have attained the BEAM Pro qualification.

Case Study

Renovation Works of 1/F Main Block, APB Centre

The new ArchSD office is located at 1/F of Main Block, APB Centre, Hung Hom. It is the first government office in Hong Kong achieved Platinum Rating under BEAM Plus Interiors Accreditation. The office has been transformed into a green workplace, to demonstrate the best practice in achieving low carbon, healthy and modern indoor environment.

Sustainable and sensible solutions incorporating the leading practices and latest trend of technology were implemented in this project. Sustainable design was envisioned through an innovative radiant cooling system, energy efficient lighting design, sustainable materials selection, excellent indoor environmental quality, etc.

The project has successfully demonstrated the best practice of a sustainable office renovation through a holistic approach on sustainable design, green construction, environmentally friendly operation and maintenance.

[s4-05-01.jpg]
Innovative radiant cooling system by using radiant cooling panels
[s4-05-02.jpg]
Dimmable indirect LED lighting to save energy
[s4-05-03.jpg]
Raised floor with recycled content
[s4-05-04.jpg]
Sustainable materials such as bamboo used as wall covering
[s4-05-05.jpg]
Green wall along main corridor to enhance indoor environmental quality
[s4-05-06.jpg]
Green roof to reduce heat gain

[s4-05-07.jpg]

Real time monitoring panel to display the energy consumption

[s4-05-08.jpg]

APB Centre is the first government office in Hong Kong achieved Platinum Rating under BEAM Plus Interiors Accreditation

 

Home | Message From The Director | Recognition and Awards | Management Approach |
Resources Utilisation and Conservation | Clients and Business Partners | Human Resources |
Objectives and Targets |

[Traditional Chinese Version] [Simplified Chinese Version] [Graphical Version] [About this Report] [About Us]
[Data Summary] [Report Verification] [GRI Content Index] [Glossary] [Feedback] [Sitemap]

(c) Copyright 2015 Best viewed by MS IE 8.0 or above with resolution 1280 x 1024.

跳至主要内容

建筑署 - 可持续发展报告2015

资源运用及管理 / 内部环保管理

[English Version] [繁體] [图像版本] [关于我们] [关于本报告]
[数据摘要] [回应表格] [网页指南] [核实声明] [全球报告倡议组织内容索引] [词汇]

资源运用及管理之下章节

[ 可持续发展建筑设计 ] [ 绿化园境 ] [ 内部环保管理 ]

内部环保管理

我们矢志为业界树立先导典范,因此把握每个机遇推动环保,在政府建筑物和设施广泛增设环保特色及采用环保的作业方式。除在建筑设计上力臻完美外,我们亦推行多种环保措施,提升建筑署工作场所的环保表现。

能源效益

建筑署已取得环境管理体系(ISO 14001)、品质管理体系(ISO 9001)及职业健康及安全管理体系(OHSAS 18001)认证。2014年,我们继续向前迈进,在建业中心推行已认证的ISO 50001能源管理体系。透过体系的框架,我们可更有序地提高能源绩效,促进可持续发展。有见这次推行能源管理体系卓有成效,我们现正探讨在部门全面实施ISO 50001体系的可行性。

[s4-06-01.jpg]

建业中心获颁发 ISO 50001能源管理体系证书

2014年,我们实行了多项节约能源及优化营运的措施。举例说,我们重组办事处的照明分区,每个工作天减少使用200盏灯7小时,另调暗600盏灯的光度,每年可节省18,928千瓦时用电。我们竭力节约能源的努力得到肯定,年内荣获「香港环保卓越计划」卓越级别节能标志以作嘉许。

[s4-06-02.jpg]
本署获颁发「香港环保卓越计划」的节能标志
[s4-06-02a.jpg]
「卓越级别」节能标志证书

环保管理

建筑署辖下办事处推行了多项环保管理措施,例如密切监察电脑的开关情况、以发光二极管(LED)照明枱灯装置取代灯管、减少电灯数目和鼓励员工在午膳时间或无人使用办事处时关灯。我们并于金钟政府合署31楼及其他六个办事处楼层,重新铺设电线以重组照明分区,另于33楼进行天花更换工程时安装了LED灯管。透过上述连串环保管理措施,可降低办事处日常运作时的耗电量。

管理碳足印

政府为推广「绿色政府建筑」,陆续推出多项措施,包括鼓励建筑面积逾10,000平方米的现有政府建筑物进行碳审计,掌握建筑物的碳排放量。我们积极支持政府的措施,每年均会聘请独立的第三方进行碳审计,一方面计算部门的碳足印,另一方面寻找改善空间,冀盼每年持续减少碳排放。

金钟政府合署办事处及建业中心过去三年的碳足印如下:

金钟政府合署办事处的碳排放量

[chart4-1.png]

  2011-12财政年度 2012-13财政年度 2013-14财政年度
直接排放 (二氧化碳当量,以公吨计) 28.66 24.05 14.90
使用能源间接引致的排放(二氧化碳当量,以公吨计) [1] 2,372.86 2,385.64 2,277.59
其他间接排放 (二氧化碳当量,以公吨计) [2] 142.94 119.25 39.02
总量 (二氧化碳当量,以公吨计) [2] 2,544.46 2,528.94 2,331.51
[1] 排放量是以全港预设排放系數计算。
[2] 2011-12、2012-13及2013-14财政年度的计算采用纸张(A3及A4)实际使用量和废纸回收量。

金钟政府合署办事处的碳排放量连续三年录得减幅,2013-14财政年度该办事处的碳审计结果分别较2011-12及2012-13财政年度减少8.4%及7.8%。碳排放量下降的主要原因是减少用电量及增加废纸回收量。

建业中心办事处的碳排放量

[chart4-2.png]

  2012 2013 2014
直接排放 (二氧化碳当量,以公吨计) 325.14 732.33 886.29
使用能源间接引致的排放 (二氧化碳当量,以公吨计) [3] 1,833.11 1,785.41 1,756.58
其他间接排放 (二氧化碳当量,以公吨计) 13.93 42.04 8.68
总量 (二氧化碳当量,以公吨计) 2,172.17 2,559.77 2,651.55
[3] 排放量是以全港预设排放系數计算。

建业中心办事处2014年的整体碳排放量较2013年上升3.6%,主因是由于泄漏制冷剂导致直接排放物增加。我们会加强监察及研究其他可行措施,防止制冷剂泄漏。然而,2014年其他间接排放量却大幅下降79%,如此理想的成绩全赖员工节省用纸和回收废纸。

室内空气质素管理及污染排放管控措施

工作场所拥有良好的室内空气质素至为重要,为保障员工的健康,我们遵从环境保护署发布的指引,保持室内空气质素良好。为评核我们的室内空气质素水平,我们参与了「室内空气质素检定计划」,经检定室内空气质素为「良好」级别。

除了注重室内空气质素外,我们亦采取措施消减空气污染。例如,我们自2013年初起便开始引入电动车,鼓励使用路边废气排放量低的交通工具。此外,各办事处的空调机及灭火系统亦全面禁用消耗臭氧层的物质。

[s4-06-03.jpg]

室内空气质素检定证书颁授仪式

水资源管理

我们会继续监察建业中心及金钟政府合署办事处的食水和冲厕水用量,同时装设多项节约用水的装置,包括在建业中心办事处安装感应器水龙头、双水量冲水坐厕水箱及备有「用水效益标签计划」用水效益标签的悭水装置。为促进员工养成节约用水的良好习惯,我们已在部门的《环保管理措施》总务通告中,加入节约用水指引。

物料及废物减量

为支持政府的减废措施,我们在办事处设立设施回收多种物料,包括废纸、铝罐、胶樽、旧光碟、废充电池和废打印机碳粉匣。2014年,我们成功减少A3纸用量逾16%,更凭着佳绩获发「香港环保卓越计划」卓越级别减废标志以作表扬。与此同时,我们也主动与资讯科技服务供应商共同合作,安排回收办事处的电脑再用或循环再造。

[s4-06-04.jpg]
本署获颁发「香港环保卓越计划」的减废标志
[s4-06-04a.jpg]
「卓越级别」减废标志证书

推进绿色文化

在最高管理层全力支持下,我们于2006年成立了「环保监督」团队(前身为「能源监督」),成员来自各处各组。现时我们共有75位「环保监督」,致力推广员工的环保意识,提醒日常工作时奉行环保守则,同时开拓更多途径,持续改善环境表现。为感谢「环保监督」多年来全情致志,努力不懈,我们每年也向表现突出的「环保监督」颁发表扬信,嘉许他们作出宝贵贡献。

[s4-06-05.jpg]

「环保监督」会议

为确保员工对环境事务有充分认识,我们鼓励各职级员工参加适当的环保培训,并考取专业资格。截至2014年7月,建筑署共有222位员工取得绿建专才(BEAM Pro)资格。

个案研究

建业中心文楼1楼翻新工程

位于红磡建业中心文楼1楼的建筑署新办事处,是香港首个取得的环保项目「绿建环评室内建筑」铂金级证书的政府办事处。这所办公室广泛采用了多项的环保方案,务求减低碳排放,缔造健康的现代化室内环境。

这宗工程项目采纳多项促进可持续发展的环保方案,卓越作业典范与最新科技发展兼收并蓄。项目从多方面着手,实现可持续设计,例如创新的辐射冷却系统和高能源效益的照明设计;亦选用了多种可持续发展物料,达致优越的室内环境质素。

我们在项目中采取整全策略,无论是可持续设计、环保的建造方式及营运维修安排,都体现可持续发展概念,为办事处翻新工程的杰出典范。

[s4-05-01.jpg]
间接LED照明装置可调暗光度节约能源
[s4-05-02.jpg]
采用辐射冷却板的创新辐射冷却系统
[s4-05-03.jpg]
选用可持续发展质料,例如以竹铺切墙身
[s4-05-04.jpg]
回收物料制造的架空地板
[s4-05-05.jpg]
回收物料制造的架空地板
[s4-05-06.jpg]
沿主走廊建设绿化墙优化室内环境

[s4-05-07.jpg]

实时监察屏显示能源耗用量

[s4-05-08.jpg]

建业中心是香港首个取得「绿建环评室内建筑」铂金级证书的政府办事处

 

首页 | 署长献辞 | 认可及奖项 | 管理方向 | 资源运用及管理 | 客户及业务伙伴 | 人力资源 | 目标与指标

[English Version] [繁體] [图像版本] [关于本报告] [关于我们]
[数据摘要] [核实声明] [全球报告倡议组织内容索引] [词汇] [回应表格] [网页指南]

(c) 版权所有 2015 请使用微软IE 8.0 或以上及 1280 x 1024 解像度来获得最佳效果。