Skip to main content

Architectural Services Department - ArchSD Sustainability Report 2015

Glossary

[Traditional Chinese Version] [Simplified Chinese Version] [Graphical Version] [About Us] [About this Report]
[Data Summary] [Feedback] [Sitemap] [Report Verification] [GRI Content Index] [Glossary]

Glossary

Building Energy Codes (BEC) Building Energy Codes is a suite of guidance that covers five aspects of installation practices, including lighting, air conditioning, electrical and lift & escalator installations. It stipulates the minimum energy performance standards (MEPS) of these installations practices.
Building Environmental Assessment Method (BEAM) Quote from BEAM Society, "A means by which to benchmark and improve performance in the planning, design, construction, commissioning, operation and management of buildings." BEAM Plus is a comprehensive environmental assessment scheme recognised by the Hong Kong Green Building Council (HKGBC). Issued in 2012, BEAM Plus Version 1.2 for New Buildings and Existing Buildings is an enhanced from the earlier version in providing Passive Design as an alternative method for assessment."
Carbon Audit A systematic and scientific approach to account for the greenhouse gas emissions arising from the operations of the buildings.
Carbon Footprint The carbon footprint is the measurement of all greenhouse gases an individual produces in daily lives through burning fossil fuels for electricity, heating, transportation, etc, usually in the unit of tonnes (or kg) of carbon dioxide equivalent.
Considerate Contractors Site Award It is an award to promote a considerate attitude and good site safety, health and environmental practices for both Public Works and non-Public Works sites.
Designated Projects Designated projects are projects or proposals that may have an adverse impact on the environment. They are covered by the Environmental Impact Assessment Ordinance in which they are categorised into two schedules: Schedule 2 and 3. (Details please refer to A Guide to the Environmental Impact Assessment Ordinance.)
Energy Audit An Energy Audit is an examination of an energy consuming equipment/system to ensure that energy is being used efficiently. It is an effective energy management tool. By identifying and implementing the means to achieve energy efficiency and conservation, not only can energy savings be achieved, but also equipment/system services life can be extended. All these mean savings in money.
Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) A process to assess the potential environmental impacts and environmental benefits (in quantitative and qualitative terms) of a project in the early planning stages as well as identify any alternatives or mitigation measures.
Environmental Impact Assessment Ordinance (EIAO) An Ordinance to assess the impact on the environment of certain projects and proposals, for protecting the environment and for incidental matters through the application of the EIA process and the environmental permit system.
Extranet The ArchSD Extranet is a private secured web portal with restricted access to enhance communication and information exchange with external users such as consultants and contractors, and to streamline contract management of works projects undertaken by the Department.
Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) A multi-stakeholder-governed institution which provides a framework for sustainability reporting, which is commonly used all over the world. This framework sets out the principles and indicators that entities can use to measure and report their economic, social and environmental performance. GRI launched its fourth generation of Sustainability Reporting Guidelines (G4) in May 2013. G4 emphasises on report materiality that encourages reporting organisations to provide only information that is critical to their business and stakeholders.
Green Building Awards (GBA) Jointly organised by the Hong Kong Green Building Council and the Professional Green Building Council, GBA is a biennial industry award which aims to provide recognition to building-related projects with excellent performance and contributions in sustainability and the built environment. It also encourages the industry to transform the mainstream market towards wider adoption of sustainable planning, design, construction, management, operation, maintenance, renovation and decommissioning of buildings.
Green Contractor Award Green Contractor Award is organised by ArchSD every year to appraise contractors that have excellent performance in construction sites through demonstrating their environmental and social conscious commitments with the implementation of effective green measures.
Greenhouse Gases Greenhouse gases refer to those which are able to absorb and hold heat in the atmosphere, either occurring naturally (e.g. carbon dioxide, methane, ozone and water vapour) or exclusively resulting from human activities (e.g. hydroflurocarbons).
Grey Water Grey water is the wastewater generated from domestic activities such as hand washing and cloth laundering. It is suitable for reuse as landscape irrigation or even toilet flushing.
Hong Kong Energy Efficiency Registration Scheme for Buildings This scheme was launched by the Electrical & Mechanical Services Department for promoting the application of Building Energy Codes since October 1998. It provides an official platform for interested parties to register their buildings which comply with BECs.
Important Tree Important Trees are trees in the Register of Old and Valuable Trees, or any other trees that meet one or more of the following criteria: trees of 100 years old or above; trees of cultural, historical or memorable significance e.g. Fung Shui tree, tree as landmark of monastery or heritage monument, and trees in memory of an important person or event; trees of precious or rare species; trees of outstanding form (taking account of overall tree sizes, shape and any special features) e.g. trees with curtain like aerial roots, trees growing in unusual habitat; or trees with trunk diameter equal or exceeding 1.0 m (measured at 1.3 m above ground level), or with height/canopy spread equal or exceeding 25 m.
ISO 50001 Energy Management System ISO 50001 is an international standard first published by International Organization for Standardization (ISO) on 15 June 2011, which specifies requirements for the establishment of an energy management system. Adopting ISO 50001 Energy Management System enables organisations to improve their energy performance, which generally includes energy use, energy efficiency and energy consumption, in a systematic approach. Similar to other well-known ISO standards such as ISO 9001 and ISO 14001, ISO 50001 is also based on the PLAN-DO-CHECK-ACT approach to assist organisations in achieving continual improvement.
Knowledge Management (KM) Portal KM portal is to manage the knowledge life cycle from generation, harvesting, formation of practice wisdom and sharing to publishing, monitoring and renewal. The whole process is manifested in the operational regime under a 3-tier system, i.e. the ArchSD Knowledge Bank (K-Bank), branches/divisions KM hubs and knowledge community workspace.
Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Green Building Rating System, developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), provides a suite of standards for environmentally sustainable construction.
Microclimate Study Microclimate study acts as an environmental performance factor of the site providing environmental characteristic of the site for the purpose of creating a sustainable environment which provides the greater comfort for the development.
Overall Thermal Transfer Value (OTTV) A measure of the energy transferred through the envelope of a building and has a direct correlation with energy consumption.
Preliminary Environmental Review (PER) It is a study that determines the current environmental conditions of the project site through inspecting the potential environmental impacts associated with the project and recommending corresponding mitigation measures.

All Government Projects are required to carry out PER at the early stage of the projects (Feasibility Study Stage).
Practice Note for Authorized Persons, Registered Structural Engineers and Registered Geotechnical Engineers (PNAP) It was formerly known as Practice Note for Authorized Persons and Registered Structural Engineers (PNAP). Since 1974, the Building Authority has issued practice notes to authorised persons, registered structural engineers and registered geotechnical engineers from time to time to promulgate how the Authority applies and enforces the provisions of the Buildings Ordinance (BO) and its subsidiary regulations as well as other administrative and advisory matters in the administration of the BO.
Program on Source Separation of Commercial and Industrial Waste It has been launched by EPD since 2007. It aims to encourage the property management sector to undertake initiative to set up and implement suitable mechanism to separate and recover waste within commercial & industrial (C&I) premises. This will facilitate the tenants / occupants to practice waste separation and recycling in workplace with ease.
Post Occupancy Evaluation (POE) Post Occupancy Evaluation is a management tool tailor-made to evaluate the performance, assess the effectiveness of sophisticated building services systems after client occupancy, and to address clients' concerns on the functional requirements and energy consumption of their recently completed building projects.
Quality Building Awards (QBA) QBA is jointly launched by nine professional organisations in Hong Kong at biennial intervals to present public recognition to buildings of outstanding quality that have demonstrated excellent teamwork. The Award aims to promote a collective commitment by the building industry to maintain the highest standards of professionalism and competitiveness.
Register of Old and Valuable Trees The Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department and Housing Department have identified some 500 Old and Valuable Trees on unleased Government land within built-up areas or tourist attractive spots in village areas to provide priority protection.
Stakeholder It refers to individuals, groups or organisations which experience directly or indirectly the actions and policies implemented by an organisation.
Sustainable Development Sustainable development is the development approach which meets the desires of the present and preserves the environment and natural resource for the future generations.
Testing and Commissioning (T&C) Testing and Commissioning (T&C) is generally regarded as testing of equipment and systems separately, in order to ensure that they are safe and meet the design requirements.
Resource Allocation Exercise (RAE) It is a practice to schedule activities and assign available resources in an economic way, so that predetermined constraints of resource availability and/or project time are not exceeded. Each HKSAR Government Department has to earmark an amount of Recurrent/Capital spending in October that to be included in the budget of the following year.
Universal Accessibility The concept of Universal Design forms the backbone of Universal Accessibility. It is a design approach to a universally accessible standard in which all products, environments and communications will allow for the widest spectrum of our community regardless of diversity, age and ability.
U-value The rate of heat flow through a material. It is measured as the amount of heat flow through 1m2 of the material for every degree difference in temperature each second.
Valuable Tree Refers to the "valuable trees" in the Register of Old and Valuable Trees which are distinguished in the following categories: Trees of large size; Trees of precious or rare species; Trees of particularly old age (e.g. aged 100 or above); Trees of cultural, historical or memorable significance; and Trees of outstanding form.
Vertical Greening Vertical greening is the application of a vegetative cover to a wall/vertical structure. It serves as the thermal insulation to building to moderate temperature and relative humidity to the site. It also helps in filtrating dust pollution, reducing noise pollution and enhancing the biological diversity of the building and its surroundings.

 

Home | Message From The Director | Recognition and Awards | Management Approach |
Resources Utilisation and Conservation | Clients and Business Partners | Human Resources |
Objectives and Targets |

[Traditional Chinese Version] [Simplified Chinese Version] [Graphical Version] [About this Report] [About Us]
[Data Summary] [Report Verification] [GRI Content Index] [Glossary] [Feedback] [Sitemap]

(c) Copyright 2015 Best viewed by MS IE 8.0 or above with resolution 1280 x 1024.

跳至主要內容

建築署 - 可持續發展報告2015

詞彙

[English Version] [简体] [圖像版本] [關於我們] [關於本報告]
[數據摘要] [回應表格] [網頁指南] [核實聲明] [全球報告倡議組織內容索引] [詞彙]

詞彙

建築物能源效益守則(BEC) 「建築物能源效益守則」是一套涵蓋五個範疇的安裝方法指引,包括照明、空調、電力、升降機及自動電梯。它規定了這些裝置的最低能源表現標準 (MEPS)。
建築環境評估法(BEAM) 引述自香港環保建築協會:「一套用以比較及改善建築物在規劃、設計、施工、竣工、運作及管理方面的準則。」綠建環評(BEAM Plus)是一項由香港綠色建築議會認可的全方位環境評估計劃。綠建環評1.2版(新建築物及現有建築物)於2012年出版,加強早期「順應自然建築設計」的版本,作為另一種評估方法。
碳審計 一套有系統及科學化的方法以計算建築物於運作時所產生的溫室氣體排放量。
碳足印 碳足印是計算個人在日常生活中使用通過燃燒化石燃料製造的電力、熱、交通等而產生的溫室氣體。單位通常為公噸(或公斤)的二氧化碳當量。
公德地盤獎 這是一個在公共工程項目及非公共工程項目的工地推廣注重公德的態度,以及安全、健康及環保的良好作業方式之獎項。
指定工程項目 指定工程項目是指可能引起不良環境影響的工程項目或擬議工程項目。此等工程項目屬於環境影響評估條例的管制範圍,列入附表2或附表3內。(詳情可瀏覽環境影響評估條例指南網)。
能源審核 能源審核是指對耗能設備和系統進行檢查,以確保高效率地利用能源。能源審核是一項有效的能源管理工具。透過鑒定和實施可達到能源效益和節約能源的方法,不但可成功節約能源,更可延長設備和系統的使用壽命。而這一切最終就是節省費用。
環境影響評估(EIA) 在一個工程項目的早期規劃階段評估該項目可能引起良好或不良環境影響(定性或定量)的程序,同時識別其他可行性建議或緩解措施。
環境影響評估條例(EIAO) 透過環境影響評估程序及環境許可證的機制,就評估某些工程項目及擬議工程項目就保護環境及其附帶事宜對環境的影響訂定條文。
外聯網 建築署外聯網是保密的私人網站,只開放給指定人士,讓建築署員工與顧問及承建商等外界使用者能促進溝通和交流資訊,以及精簡本署所負責工程項目的合約管理工作。
全球報告倡議組織(GRI) 一個由多個持份者組成的非牟利組織,旨在制定一份在全球廣泛採用的可持續發展報告框架。這框架制定了報告原則和指標,以衡量並滙報機構在經濟、社會和環境績效的表現。全球有超過5,000多家具國際性領導地位的大品牌公司聲稱構採用這指標進行滙報工作。2013年5月,全球報告倡議組織推出其第四代可持續發展報告指南 (G4)。G4強調報告的實質性,鼓勵報告機構集中提供與其業務和持份者相關的關鍵資訊。
環保建築大獎 環保建築大獎是每兩年一度由香港綠色建築議會和環保建築專業議會聯合舉辦的行業大獎,旨在表揚可持續和環保特色完善及貢獻重大的建築工程項目,並鼓勵業界帶領主流市場在可持續和環保規劃、設計、建造、管理、營運、保養、翻新及樓宇拆卸等各方面,廣泛採用的作業方式。
環保承建商獎勵計劃 建築署透過每年的環保承建商獎勵計劃,向在建築工地施工的傑出承建商頒發獎項,嘉許他們的環保和社會意識,並推行有效的環保措施。
溫室氣體 溫室氣體是指那些於大氣中能夠吸收及保存熱能的氣體。這些氣體有自然存在的(如二氧化碳、甲烷、臭氧及水蒸氣)或由人類活動所產生的(如氫氟碳化物)。
洗盥污水 洗盥污水是來自家居活動如洗手及洗衣物時所產生的廢水,它適合重用於園林灌溉,甚至沖廁。
香港建築物能源效益計劃 自1998年10月,機電工程署推出這項計劃以推廣建築物能源效益守則的應用。它提供一個官方平台予有興趣的單位為其符合建築物能源效益守則的建築物進行登記。
重要樹木 重要樹木列於古樹名木冊中的樹木,符合下列一個或以上準則:
1.樹齡達一百年的古樹;
2.具有文化意義、歷史意義或紀念意義的樹木,例如風水樹、標誌著寺院或文物古蹟的樹木、爲紀念重要人物或事件而種植的樹木等;
3.珍貴或稀有樹木品種;4.形態出眾的樹木(考慮到樹的整體大小、形狀和特徵),例如:氣根像簾幕的樹木、生長於特別生態環境的樹木;或樹幹直徑等於或超過1.0米(在地面水平1.3 米以上進行測量),或高度/樹冠範圍等於或超過 25米。
ISO 50001能源管理體系 國際標準化組織(ISO)於2011年6月15日發布ISO 50001標準,詳述建立能源管理體系的要求。採用ISO 50001能源管理體系使企業能有系統地改善能源表現,通常包括能源使用、能源效益和能源消耗。與國際標準化組織發表的其他管理體系標準相若(如ISO 9001及ISO 14001標準),ISO 50001建基於「規劃 -實行檢查 -行動」的方式,協助企業持續改善能源表現。
知識管理(KM)網站 建築署推出知識管理(KM)網站,管理由產生、獲取至彙整實踐知識的整個知識生命周期,推動發表分享、監察和更新。知識管理程序採用三層架構,即建築署精華庫、處/分處錦囊庫及經驗庫。
能源和環境設計領先認證(LEED) 由美國綠色建築委員會(USGBC)編制的能源和環境設計領先認證(LEED)環保建築評估體系,是一套可用於可持續發展建築的準則。
微氣候研究 作為一個地點的環保表現因素,微氣候研究提供該地點的環境特徵,旨在建立一個更舒適的可持續發展環境。
總熱傳送值(OTTV) 量度透過建築物外牆轉移的能量,跟能源消耗有直接關係。
初步環境審查(PER) 一項透過檢查與項目相關的潛在環境影響,並建議相應緩解措施,從而確定項目當前環境狀況的研究。

所有政府工程項目都須在項目的早期階段(可行性研究階段)進行初步環境審查。
認可人士、註冊結構工程師及註冊岩土工程師作業備考(PNAP) 前稱《認可人士及註冊結構工程師作業備考》(PNAP)。自1974年開始建築事務監督不時發出的作業備考。向認可人士、註冊結構工程師及註冊岩土工程師公布如何應用和執行《建築物條例》及其附屬規例的規定,以及其他有關施行《建築物條例》的行政和建議事宜。
工商業廢物源頭分類計劃 環保署於二零零七年推出此計劃,旨在鼓勵物業管理公司發揮帶頭作用,在不同類型的工商業樓宇內建立及推行合適的廢物回收機制,讓業戶/租戶可於工作場所內輕鬆地參與廢物分類回收。
樓宇用後評估(POE) 樓宇用後評估是一套管理工具,特定在用戶入伙後,評估樓宇建築及屋宇裝備設施的表現及效能。樓宇用後評估亦有助用戶在設施的功能和各系統在能源消耗方面得到較深入的了解。
優質建築大獎 優質建築大獎是每兩年一度由香港九個建築專業學會/機構聯合舉辦的獎項,旨在表揚體現卓越團隊工作的優質建築。獎勵的目標是促使整個建造業致力維持高質的專業水準和鞏固競爭力。
古樹名木冊 康樂及文化事務署、漁農自然護理署和房屋署在樓宇密集區域的未批租政府土地,或鄉村地區的旅遊勝地,選定了五百多棵樹木編入古樹名木冊,以提供優先保護。
持份者 指直接或間接地受一個組織所實施的行動和政策影響的個人、團體或機構。
可持續發展 可持續發展是既滿足這一代需求的同時又為後代保存環境及自然資源的發展方向。
測試及運作 測試及運作普遍指個別測試設備和系統,以確保它們的安全性及符合設計要求。
資源分配工作(RAE) 它是一種以經濟方式安排活動和分配現有資源的方法,避免超過預定的可用資源及/或項目時間。每個政府部門需在10月預留一筆經常性/資本支出,以納入來年預算。
暢道通行 暢道通行這概念是在設計任何建築產品、人工環境及通訊都可讓我們社區中不同類別的人士,不分種族、年齡和能力都能夠共同享用。
U值 熱能穿透某一種物質的速率。計算方法為在一鈔鐘內穿過該種物質一平方米每一度溫差所流失的熱量。
珍貴樹木 所指的是登記在古樹名木冊中的「珍貴樹木」,區分於以下類別:大樹;珍貴或稀有樹木品種;古樹(例如樹齡超過一百年);具有文化、歷史或重要紀念意義的樹木;以及樹形出眾的樹木。
垂直綠化 垂直綠化是將植物覆蓋在牆上或垂直結構上,增加建築物的隔熱力,以調節溫度和相對濕度。它還有助於過濾塵埃、減少噪音污染及提高建築物及其周圍的生物多樣性。

 

首頁 | 署長獻辭 | 認可及獎項 | 管理方向 | 資源運用及管理 | 客戶及業務伙伴 | 人力資源 | 目標與指標

[English Version] [简体] [圖像版本] [關於本報告] [關於我們]
[數據摘要] [核實聲明] [全球報告倡議組織內容索引] [詞彙] [回應表格] [網頁指南]

(c) 版權所有 2015 請使用微軟IE 8.0 或以上及 1280 x 1024 解像度來獲得最佳效果。